---
name: watson-assistant-save-actions
title: Saving your actions
description: 'When working on actions, your assistant automatically saves changes when you do one of the following:'
last-updated: 2023-08-22
---

> ## Documentation Index
> The table of contents for this documentation set is at https://cloud.ibm.com/docs/watson-assistant?format=markdown
> The index for all IBM Cloud docs is at: https://cloud.ibm.com/docs/llms.txt
> Use these files to discover more information as needed.

# Saving your actions
{: #save-actions}

When working on actions, your assistant automatically saves changes when you do one of the following:

- Click on a new step.
- Open Preview.
- Reset Preview.

You can also save changes by clicking the **Save** icon, for example, in these places when working on actions:

- Within each action.
- Actions settings.
- Renaming an action.
- Editing a variable.

When the system automatically saves or you click the **Save** icon, the following items are saved to all:
- Actions that you created.
- Edits that you made to a system action.
- Variables that you created.
- Action settings.

## Avoiding conflicts
{: #save-actions-conflicts}

To avoid conflicts when saving, we recommend dividing work so that one person works on one action at a time.

Also, watsonx Assistant prevents two users from working in an action with unsaved edits. If one user saves changes before a second user, this `Unable to save action` message might appear:

![Unable to save action](images/manage-team-unable-to-save.png)