---
name: account-catalog-deprecate
title: Deprecating a private product
description: To permanently delete a private product or version, deprecate it first. Your product remains available for use during a 90-day deprecation period, and is removed after 90 days.
last-updated: 2025-11-15
---

> ## Documentation Index
> The table of contents for this documentation set is at https://cloud.ibm.com/docs/account?format=markdown
> The index for all IBM Cloud docs is at: https://cloud.ibm.com/docs/llms.txt
> Use these files to discover more information as needed.

{:shortdesc: .shortdesc}
{:codeblock: .codeblock}
{:pre: .pre}
{:screen: .screen}
{:tip: .tip}
{:note: .note}
{:beta: .beta}
{:important: .important}
{:download: .download}
{:external: target="_blank" .external}

# Deprecating a private product
{: #deprecate-product}

To permanently delete a private product or version, deprecate it first. Your product remains available for use during a 90-day deprecation period, and is removed after 90 days.
{: shortdesc}

Deprecating your product or version will permanently delete it for use after 90 days. If you want to temporarily remove your product, suspend it instead.  
{: note}

Complete the following steps to deprecate your product or version:

1. Click **Manage** > **Catalogs** > **Private catalogs** in the IBM Cloud&reg; console.
1. Select the private catalog where your product is located.
1. Select your product.
1. Optionally, if you want to deprecate a specific version of your software, select that version from the list.
   
   If your software has only one published version, and you deprecate that version, the entire product is deprecated. 
   {: note}

1. Open the **Actions** menu and select **Deprecate**.
1. Optionally, you can include more details, like a link to a deprecation announcement.  
1. Click **Deprecate**.

You can also deprecate your product or version by clicking the **Actions** icon ![Actions icon](../icons/actions-icon-vertical.svg "Actions") and selecting **Deprecate** for that product or version.

After you deprecate your product or version, you have 90 days to restore it to its last published state before it is removed for use. After 90 days, your product or version moves to the Archived state in your private catalog in Catalog management.